In 1921 six Theta alumnae who lived in Louisville met socially to get acquainted and decided to "keep in touch."  By 1923 the group had enlarged to twelve members and became organized to form the charter of the Louisville Kappa Theta Alumnae Club.  The annual dues were $1 per member and the primary purpose of the group was sociability.  The Club was inactive from November 1942 until October 1952.  

In 1971 the Club voted to become an official chapter and, under the direction of President Mary Ellen Brewster, plans were made for this to happen.  The members increased to over 100 and had various successful money raising projects.  The group committed $1,000 over the following five years for the purpose of memorializing an Emergency Room at Norton Hospital.  The installation of the new chapter took place at the Founders' Day Luncheon on January 22nd, 1972.  The fraternity's Grand President, Norma Jorgensen, was the special guest and proceeded with the installation of the chapter along with a brief message.

At the Grand Convention in 1972 this former "club" received the award for "The Most Improved Club."  Since 1972 the Chapter has continued to flourish with many various social projects, meetings, and events of interest.

Local Thetas Who Have Made an Outstanding Contribution to the Community

Ellen BeeBee Shelby (Alpha, '36):  Winner of the Bell Award which is an annual community award for local citizens who have contributed greatly in the area of volunteerism.  Ellen's contributions include volunteering at a local hospital and with Meals on Wheels, the March of Dimes, and Wesley House.  Ellen was one of the first people in the county to begin recycling, collecting recyclables from her friends and taking them to be recycled before the county began their official program.

Mildred Long Ewen (Gamma Iota, '45):  Founded the Anchorage Historical Society and, as a volunteer, promoted and changed the archives along with insuring their preservation for the city of Anchorage.

Janice Roberts Blythe (Gamma Iota, '53):  Served on the Kentucky Commission on Women and was politically active at the national, state, and local level.  Janice served as chairman of the Jefferson County Republican Party and was one of the first women to run for a county-wide office.  She has belonged to numerous organizations and served on several boards including The Drug Abuse Center, First Offender Inc., and Jefferson County Council for Retarded Citizens where she was instrumental in establishing the first kindergarten for retarded children in her county.  She was President of the Jefferson County University of Kentucky Alumni Board and served on the National Alumni Board for four terms and received the Distinguished Service Award from the university in 1983.

Sue Abbott Russell (Gamma, '60):  President of the Louisville Orchestra Association and Vice President of the Louisville Orchestra Board of Directors.  President of the Younger Women's Club of Louisville and Board Member of the Louisville Deaf Oral School.  Sue was also a Kappa Alpha Theta College District President.

Jeannie Haines Livesay (Gamma Iota, '61):  Member of various community Boards including the Deal Oral School of which she has served as President, the Kentucky School for Special Children, Woman's Club of Louisville of which she has served as 1st Vice President and Treasurer, Younger Woman's Club of Louisville, and Colonelettes (wives of Jaycees) of which she served as Miss Louisville Pageant Co-Chairman.  Jeannie was the owner of a successful bath boutique for 28 years.  She has served as President of the Louisville Alumnae Chapter several times, was College District President, and both the Finance Advisor and Treasurer of the Centre House Corporation Board.

Mary Barlett Broecker (Gamma Iota, '62):  B.A. Business 1962 and M.A. Guidance and Counseling 1963.  Mary served on the Kentucky Arts Commission for 10 years and served as the Acting Chairman.  In Oldham County May has served on the following boards:  Chamber of Commerce (started the Business Fair), YMCA, United Way, Relay for Life, Education Foundation, Arts Commission (started Picnic on the Square competition), Project Guild (Oldham County Day), all offices, Ethics Commission (chair 2007), Oldham County Republican Woman's Club (President) and ran for the KY State Senate.  Awards:  Oldam Countian of the Year.  In Jefferson County Mary has been active in the Younger Woman's Club, the Woman's Club of Louisville (Executive Board), Fillies (President), the Orchestra a la carte committees of Heart Strings and Motorcycle Safari.  Mary has volunteered as a tutor for Oldham County schools and St. Francis School in Goshen.  She has been a 4-H leader and on the country board.  She has been an etiquette instructor and run a summer camp for children since 1972.  She is activew in her church as a marriage mentor, bible study leader, and with her husband Kurt, the Heaven's Angels Motorcycle Group.  Mary was President of KAO at UK and has been President of the Louisville Alumnae Chapter several times.  

Page last updated on Tuesday, April 12, 2016 3:33 PM (10:26:3184)